Let it snow…

January 7, 2011

This morning has been a whirlwind so far. I woke up super late, it’s snowing, and I had to be picked up for work b/c my car is terrible in the snow. Today I’m feeling worse than yesterday, but it’s Friday so I just need to push through the next 8 hours then I’ll be free! I have a second to post before my workday gets too crazy so I thought I’d squeeze my breakfast pics in here. I have to say that I’m not entirely happy with the pictures. I normally get beautiful images off my iPhone but I’m having problems uploading them to my computer so I’ve been reducing their size and emailing them to myself then saving them to my computer then posting them. It’s a ridiculous amount of work AND the photos kinda suck. They end up all fuzzy and the colors seem off. I need to update my OS to snow leopard but I really feel like Apple milks its customers/fans for money through all of these upgrades. I’ve had six iPhones in 2 years. It’s just getting out of hand. Anyway, back to breakfast.

Most important meal of the day

Today I tried Trader Joe’s Complete Oatmeal. It has about 70 more calories than plain instant oatmeal but is full of extras like flaxseed and B vitamins. I didn’t realize that it had sugar in it until I bought it but I figured it’s still better for me than most flavored instant oatmeals. I mixed in the last of the frozen blueberries (Archer Farms Organic from Target – very good) and some sliced frozen strawberries before microwaving it. Once heated, I added some plain nonfat yogurt and a generous sprinkle of bourbon pecans (basically little sugar bombs that I rarely use but today just called for a little something extra). The oatmeal was surprisingly not that sweet, even with the fruit mixed in, so the pecans were a perfect addition.

  • 1 pk TJ complete oatmeal: 170/3/29
  • 1/6c frozen blueberries: 17/0/4
  • 1/4c frozen strawberries: 10/0/3
  • 1/4c plain nonfat yogurt: 28/0/4

Breakfast Totals: 225cal/3g fat/40g cho 

Now I’m off to tackle the day! Hope everyone has a great Friday!

Snowy view from my office window.

One Response to “Let it snow…”


  1. Yummmm, I love yogurt in oatmeal! Cold and creamy with warm and creamy… it’s the perfect combo 🙂


Leave a Reply

